(Re) Introduction

The astute reader might notice that this is not the first entry on this blog. It’s true; I’d intended to start this project a couple of years ago, but always found something else to distract my attention.

But here I am, ready to write, ready to watch. My decision to revitalize this project was a bit impulsive, I’ll admit, and maybe it won’t last forever. Even still, I’ve decided to give it a shot and see how it lasts.

To spice things up for myself, though, I’m changing the setup a bit. My initial intention was to work my way back through the films from the present, in reverse chronological order, but instead I want to give myself more freedom to jump around in time. Also, Netflix had a couple of films about to expire the other day, so I had to take the opportunity that presented itself to me.

In the course of my Netflix binge, I stumbled upon an inadvertent juxtaposition of movies separated in time but similar in subject (soon to be revealed!). That potential for thought-provoking contrasts convinced me to allow myself the intrigue of pairing movies together based on interesting thematic connections. I’ll try not to be too heavy-handed about it.

At the same time, I don’t intend for this to be a film review blog. There are plenty of people out there who do that much better than I could ever hope to. I’d like to think of this as an impressionistic blog, filled with my own reactions to movies that I may know only from the public consciousness (or perhaps not at all). I also want to use this as a venue for more personal essayistic observations, so I’ll certainly be writing from that perspective as well.

That’s all for now. I’m looking forward to seeing how far I make it through the Best Pictures of the past 88 years.

Leave a Reply

